Why You Should Create (A Newsletter)

Plus: Rightsizing vs. Downsizing, MRI Body Scan Pros and Cons

Sponsored by

These stories are presented thanks to beehiiv, an all-in-one newsletter suite built by the early Morning Brew team.

Fully equipped with built-in growth and monetization tools, no code website and newsletter builder, and best-in-class analytics that actually move the needle.

The top newsletters in the world are built on beehiiv, and yours can be too. It's the most affordable option in the market, and you can try it for free — no credit card required.

Hello friends! Welcome to Notes from the Road, where we crack the code on your 50s and beyond. In this issue:

  • Why you should create (a newsletter).

  • A newsletter you should read.

  • Whole MRI body scans: pros and cons.

  • Don’t downsize! Rightsize.

  • Wisdom from Cicero.

First time reading? Sign up here.

Missed an issue? Read them all here.

Why You Should Create (A Newsletter)

As you may have noticed when you opened this email, beehiiv—the newsletter tool I use to produce every issue—offered to sponsor this issue today.

I was thrilled to accept the offer. Sure, I’ve had a great experience with beehiiv. But the timing was also perfect. I’ve been planning to tell you about the joy of this journey, and why you should find something to create, too, whether it’s a newsletter, a YouTube channel, music, painting, photography, or anything else.

When I get some distance from what my husband and I call “The Endeavor,” I realize that my friends and family must think I’ve gone insane. Why in the world would you want to take on a project like this just as you’re hitting the glide path into retirement? Why create a new obligation when you’re on the cusp of being free of so many others? Why expose yourself to criticism from total strangers?

And really, I can’t explain it.

But I can say this: at this stage of life, ever more pared down, with new possibilities, there’s space again for being creative. It’s finally a chance to get back to the person you were, before life got in the way. Here are three reasons you should create:

  • It keeps you sharp. For my newsletter, I’ve had to learn the beehiiv platform. But there’s more to explore if I choose, including graphic design, copywriting, digital advertising, newsletter industry news, and so much more. If you’re a curious person, and maybe burned out on your own career, creating can give you a fascinating glimpse into a whole new world.

  • It gives you purpose. Okay, I still have purpose, tied up with my family, friends, and clients. But creating has given me another purpose, and that’s to make someone’s life a little bit better by sharing what I learn. That’s powerful, and will become even more so when I’m deep into retirement.

  • It gives you identity. Creating has allowed me to move beyond myself as an “employee,” as a “business owner,” as a “mom.” A big question of midlife is “who do I want to be next?” Creating allows you to find that person.

  • It connects you to others: Take this video of ours. Right now we’re at 561 comments and counting, and they’re overwhelmingly lovely. Sometimes a few people say mean-spirited things, but it’s probably less than 2%. Don’t be scared. Create.

Is it work? Yes. Can it be stressful? Yes, the deadlines can be a drag. But it’s also a ton of fun, and it’s something completely new that you make from nothing. And that’s something you can get from creating anything, newsletter or not.

What are you excited about creating?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Newsletter Spotlight

Since I’m now what they call a “Newsletter Operator,”😏😏 I have a keen interest in reading all kinds of newsletters for information and inspiration. From time to time, I’m going to share the best of these with you, because I love them and think you will too. First up: The Unretirees.

The Weekly Roundup

Worth your time to watch, read, and listen.

Whole body MRI scans may be coming to a city near you soon. Good? Bad? Some resources for figuring it out:

  • 📺,🎧 Why Have a Full Body Scan?—Founder and CEO of Prenuvo, a provider of full-body scans, explains the potential benefits, and believes that early intervention could prevent severe health issues. He also acknowledges that more research is needed fully to understand the role of such scans for the general population. (Available on YouTube and most podcast apps, 56 minutes).

  • 📺,🎧 The Case Against Full Body Scans—The president of the American College of Preventive Medicine, Dr. Mirza Rahman, argues that there’s no medical evidence supporting the use of such scans which, he says, come with many risks. (Available on YouTube and most podcast apps, 47 minutes).

Don’t Downsize! Rightsize Instead

If you spend time in the retirement industrial complex, you’ll see all kinds of things about minimalism. You can get rid of all your things and breathe free again! As I’ve written before: it’s not all it’s cracked up to be. You can indeed breathe free again, but maybe take it down a notch and really think it through. Here’s our story:

No one is so old that he does not think he could live another year.

Cicero

How was today's newsletter?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Reply

or to participate.